Farsley Celtic beat Mossley for second game in row


After falling a goal behind in the first half Farsley Celtic produced a spirited comeback as they defeated Mossley AFC 3-1 for the second time in four days, writes Thomas Ritchie.

Mossley thought they had taken the lead after five minutes when Dave Short swept home Jordan Bove’s cross, however the goal was disallowed for offside much to the frustration of their dugout.

Richard Marshall almost edged Farsley in front on the half hour as he got the slightest of touches onto Paddy Miller’s cross but couldn’t direct it goal wards.

Mossley then took the lead against the run of play as Matty Burke failed to get hold of his half-volley from the edge of the box, however his effort beat The Celts’ ‘keeper Graeme McKibbin, who failed to push the ball wide of the upright.

Mossley almost doubled their lead when McKibbin fumbled a Dave Short shot however Tom Pratt’s follow up effort was deflected wide.

Farsley then had a chance of their own as Paul Walker put Nathan Turner through on goal who shot straight at Liam Flynn, Mossley preserving their 1-0 lead at the half.

After Mossley defender Kyle Harrison hauled down Paul Walker, The Celts took advantage as Adam Clayton nodded home Paddy Miller’s pinpoint free kick to level the scoreline.

Clayton had an opportunity to give Farsley the lead moments later however this time he headed Richard Marshall’s corner wide from 10 yards out. Paul Walker handed Farsley the advantage on the hour mark after he drilled a low free-kick from 25 yards out that crept under Mossley ‘keeper Liam Flynn and into the back of the net.

Adam Clayton continued to be a danger from set pieces and forced a wonderful save from Flynn who palmed away Clayton’s powerful header.

With just minutes remaining Farsley wrapped up all three points as Walker’s effort took a deflection and fell to the feet of substitute Jacob Hazel inside the six yard box who slotted home to complete Farsley’s 3-1 victory.

Farsley Celtic: McKibbin, Hardy, Clayton, Turner, Savory, Miller (c) (Howarth 78), Nightingale (Deacey 90+1), Daly, P. Davidson (Hazel 79), Marshall, Walker. Unused subs: A. Davidson, Lofthouse (GK).

Mossley AFC: Flynn, Harrison (Harper 79), Bennett, Jeffs, Dean, McGonnigle (c), Burke, McDonnell (Haslam 46), Bove, Short (Kiwanda 76), Pratt. Unused subs: Bourne, Duffy.

MOTM: Adam Clayton

Attendance: 128


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.