FA Trophy: Farsley Celtic see off Mossley


Mossley 1 Farsley Celtic 3

Lewis Nightingale and Paul Walker put on an attacking masterclass for Farsley Celtic as they defeated Mossley 3-1 at Seel Park and progressed through to the 2nd qualifying round of the FA Trophy, writes Thomas Ritchie.

The Celts took the lead early on as a slick passing move was finished by Lewis Nightingale after Paul Walker whipped in a delightful ground cross.

Mossley had their first opportunity as Andy Keogh had his effort well saved by Graeme McKibbin before the ball fell to the feet of Tom Pratt who fired over.

Just before the half hour mark Mossley had strong appeals for a penalty waved away as Pratt went down under pressure from Aaron Hardy, before Farsley then pushed forward with Paul Walker firing over after being played in by Richard Marshall.

Marshall then had a chance of his own as he let fly from the edge of the box, his curling effort being superbly tipped over by Liam Flynn. From the resulting corner Ross Daly received the ball and played in Nightingale who squared for Aiden Savory who prodded home at the back post to double Farsley’s lead.

Mossley started the second half positively and were rewarded with a goal as an almighty scramble in the box resulted in substitute Jordan Bove heading in at the far post.

Mossley continued their pressure and came close to an equaliser after John Bennett’s free-kick was headed goal-wards by Dave Short only for McKibbin to make a fine save and tip the ball over the bar.

Farsley were then reduced to ten men as Richard Marshall was sent for an early bath controversially after he jumped for a header and was adjudged to have lead with the elbow.

The wind was taken out of Mossley’s sails ten minutes from time after a coming together between Pratt and McKibbin resulted in the former being dismissed after giving a kick out at Farsley’s ‘keeper.

Immediately after Farsley secured all three points after some great interplay between Walker and Nightingale with Walker producing a superb delivery once again for Nightingale who slotted home from close range.


Mossley AFC: Flynn, Harrison, Bennett, Jeffs, Dean, McGonnigle (Short 46), Hill (Bourne 71), Burke, Keogh (c), Haslam (Bove 46), Pratt. Unused subs: McDonnell, Harper.
Farsley Celtic: McKibbin, Hardy, Howarth, Turner, Savory, Miller (c), Nightingale (P. Davidson 85), Daly, Hazel (Deacey 85), Marshall, Walker. Unused subs: Clayton, A. Davidson.

MOTM: Lewis Nightingale
Attendance: 124


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.