Farsley Celtic edge out Colne FC at Throstle Nest


Farsley Celtic ground out a fourth consecutive victory in all competitions as they defeated newly promoted Colne FC 2-1 at Throstle Nest, writes Thomas Ritchie.

Colne started the brighter and earned an early penalty after Matthew Beadle was hacked down in the box by Ryan Serrant.

Joseph Garvin then stepped up to take the penalty, only for Celtic ‘keeper Graeme McKibbin made a fantastic save diving away to his right.

Farsley then took the lead after James Walshaw curled a sensational long range free-kick into the back of the net.

Beadle continued to make his mark on the game as he raced through on goal and fired home past McKibbin into into the bottom corner levelling the scores.

Colne continued to impress with Lee Pugh firing just wide as he drilled his effort across goal from the edge of the box.

Just on the half-hour mark Farsley won a penalty of their own as Jacob Hazel was felled in the box by Craig Lynch. Richard Marshall stepped up and made no mistake to regain the lead for The Celts.

Moments later Marshall almost extended Farsley’s lead only for his effort to be pushed away by Nosakhare Aghayere, who had started the game shakily.

Colne raced straight out of the blocks at the start of the second half as Jason Hart rounded McKibbin before Ryan Serrant made a goal saving block to preserve Farsley’s lead.

Peter Davidson then forced a smart save from Aghayere who blocked with his feet.

McKibbin had to make a fine save at the other end as Garvin’s free-kick was headed goalwards by Beadle before McKibbin tipped the ball over the bar.

From the resulting corner Paul Walker was forced to make a crucial clearance off the line as Colne appealed for a goal.

Colne kept pressing for an equaliser and came close as Michael Morrison teed up Matthew Beadle who headed inches over from close range.

The final stages of the game became scrappy with Farsley just doing enough to maintain their lead and secure another vital three points.

The teams

Farsley Celtic: McKibbin, Hardy (Howarth 48 (Daly 77)), Serrant, Turner, Savory, Miller (c), Hazel, P. Davidson (A. Davidson 79), Walshaw, Marshall, Walker. Unused subs: Deacey, Knowles.

Colne FC: Aghayere, Morton, Pugh, Bond, Lynch, Craig (Mukendi 72), Garvin, Hoskin (Hargreaves 79), Hart, Beadle, Morrison (c). Unused subs: Melia, Grice, Wharton.

MOTM: Richard Marshall

Attendance: 125


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.