What do latest proposed boundary changes mean for Leeds West and Pudsey constituencies?


By John Baron

West Leeds residents can have their say on the final set of revised proposals for parliamentary constituencies which would see Leeds West disappear completely and Pudsey be reshaped.

The Boundary Commission for England has today (8 November) published new revised proposals for constituencies across the country and opens a final month-long consultation, giving the public a last opportunity to send in their views.

It is trying to re-jig the UK’s Parliamentary constituencies, to ensure MPs represent relatively even numbers of people. It’s proposed to do away with the current Leeds West Constituency altogether.

In the latest proposals, Armley – which was originally due to be in a new ‘Headingley’ constituency, has been moved into the new-look Pudsey constituency following feedback in earlier rounds of consultation.

Pudsey constituency will lose Guiseley, Rawdon and Horsforth. Under the reforms it would cover Pudsey, Calverley, Rodley, Farsley, Bramley, Stanningley and Armley.

Farnley and Wortley, which was originally due to be in Pudsey constituency, would now be in the proposed Morley Constituency.

A new ‘Headingley’ constituency would be created and group together Kirkstall, Weetwood, Hyde Park, Little London, Woodhouse and Headingley itself.

A third and final consultation on the new map of revised constituency proposals is open now until 5 December. The public are invited to view and comment on the new map at https://www.bcereviews.org.uk/.

Tim Bowden, Secretary to the Boundary Commission for England, said: “Last year we published our initial proposals for new constituency boundaries – our first go at what the map should look like. We are delighted with the huge number of comments from members of the public on our initial proposals, many which included valuable evidence about local communities. 

“Today’s publication is the culmination of months of analysis and we have revised nearly half of our initial proposals based on what people have told us. We now believe we are close to the best map of constituencies that can be achieved under the rules we are working to. 

“However, we still want people to tell us what they think of this latest map before we submit our final recommendations to Parliament next year. This is our final consultation and I encourage you to participate in the 2023 Boundary Review.”

The 2023 Boundary Review will rebalance the number of electors each MP represents, resulting in significant change to the existing constituency map. As part of the review, the number of constituencies in England will increase from 533 to 543.

Read the latest review report here.

The changes do not affect council ward boundaries or people’s postcodes.

Sponsored content


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.