West Leeds: Most schools closed due to snow – public transport disrupted

A snowy street in Farnley this morning. Photo: John Baron/westleedsdispatch.com

Many schools in West Leeds are closed today due to heavy overnight snow, with public transport heavily disrupted this morning.

Snow is forecast to continue in Leeds until around 12 noon today, with the Met Office issuing an amber weather warning.

Many schools have been forced to close. Follow this link for the latest school information.

A full list of schools in Leeds:

  • Abbey Grange C of E Academy 
  • Adel St John The Baptist C of E Primary School
  • Alder Tree Primary Academy (formerly known as Mill Field Primary)
  • Allerton Grange High School
  • Austhorpe Primary School
  • Bardsey Primary Academy
  • Beecroft Primary School
  • Benton Park School
  • Birchfield Primary School
  • Bishop Young Church of England Academy (formerly DYCA)
  • Blackgates Primary Academy
  • Boston Spa Academy
  • Bracken Edge Primary School
  • Bramham Primary School
  • Bramley Park Academy
  • Bramley St Peter’s CE Voluntary Aided Primary School
  • Broadgate Primary School
  • Bruntcliffe Academy
  • Cardinal Heenan Catholic High School
  • Carlton Primary School
  • Churwell Primary School
  • Colton Primary School
  • Cookridge Holy Trinity C of E Primary School
  • Co-op Academy Nightingale
  • Co-op Academy Woodlands
  • Co-Operative Academy Priesthorpe
  • Cross Gates Primary School
  • Drighlington Primary School
  • Ebor Gardens Primary Academ
  • Elements Primary School
  • Elliott Hudson College
  • Fieldhead Carr Primary School
  • Fountain Primary School
  • Gildersome Primary School
  • Gledhow Primary School
  • Grange Farm Primary School
  • Greenhill Primary School
  • Greenmount Primary School
  • Harehills Primary School
  • Highfield Primary School
  • Hill Top Primary Academy
  • Hillcrest Primary Academy
  • Hollybush Primary School
  • Holy Name Catholic Voluntary Academy (Cookridge)
  • Horsforth Newlaithes Primary School
  • Horsforth School
  • John Smeaton Academy
  • Kerr Mackie Primary School
  • Kirkstall St Stephen’s C of E Primary School
  • Lane End Primary
  • Lawnswood School
  • Leeds City Academy
  • Leeds East Academy
  • Leeds West Academy
  • Lighthouse Free School Academy
  • Low Road Primary School
  • Manston Primary School
  • Morley Newlands Primary Academy
  • Mount St Mary’s Catholic High School
  • New Bewerley Community School
  • Otley All Saints C of E Primary School
  • Otley The Whartons Primary School
  • Oulton Academy (formley known as Royds)
  • Parklands Primary School
  • Pool-in-Wharfedale C of E Voluntary Controlled Primary School
  • Pudsey Grammar School (Formerly known as Pudsey Grangefield)
  • Pudsey Lowtown Primary School
  • Quarry Mount Primary School
  • Rawdon St Peter’s C of E Voluntary Controlled Primary School
  • Reach Primary Learning Centre
  • Richmond Hill Primary Academy School
  • Rosebank Primary School
  • Rufford Park Primary School
  • Ryecroft Academy
  • Sacred Heart Catholic Primary School
  • Seacroft Grange Primary School
  • Seven Hills Primary School
  • Shadwell Primary School
  • South SILC Broomfield Site
  • Southway KS3 & KS4 Extended Educational Provision
  • Springwell Leeds Academy
  • St Augustine’s Catholic Primary School
  • St Bartholomew’s CofE Voluntary Controlled Primary School
  • St Benedict’s Catholic Primary School
  • St Chad’s C of E Primary School
  • St Francis Catholic Primary School, Morley
  • St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School, Hunslet
  • St Margaret’s C of E Voluntary Controlled Primary School
  • St Mary’s Catholic Primary School, Horsforth (Voluntary Academy)
  • St Oswald’s C of E Primary School
  • St Theresa’s Catholic Primary School
  • Summerfield Primary School
  • Swarcliffe Primary School
  • Temple Moor High School & Sixth Form
  • The Morley Academy
  • The Rodillian Academy
  • The Stephen Longfellow Academy
  • Thorner C of E Voluntary Controlled Primary School
  • Victoria Primary Academy
  • West Oaks School
  • West SILC Milestone Site
  • Westbrook Lane Primary School
  • Westgate Primary School
  • Westwood Primary School
  • Whingate Primary School
  • Whinmoor St Paul’s C of E Primary School
  • Whitecote Primary School
  • Windmill Primary School
  • Woodkirk Academy
  • Wykebeck Primary School
  • Yeadon Westfield Infant School
  • Al Kauthar Girls Academy
  • St Mary’s C of E Primary Academy (Hunslet)


  • Ashfield Primary School – operating but with skeleton staff
  • Collingham Lady Elizabeth Hastings’ C of E Primary School
  • Park Spring Primary School, delayed 10.30am start
  • Park View Primary Academy, delayed 10.30am start
  • Rothwell Victoria Junior School, delayed 10am start
  • Roundhay All Through School 14–18: Secondary Campus, delayed start
  • The Ruth Gorse Academy, delayed 9.30am start

The Met Office has warned that “significant disruption” is expected on the roads and trainlines. Updates on severe disruptions to buses can be found here. Details of rail disruptions can be found here. People are being urged to travel only if you need to.

Leeds Bradford Airport reported delays to flights this morning. More details here.

Leeds council has said if your bin is not collected today as normal, further efforts will be made to collect them on Saturday.

Community hubs and libraries face closure or revised opening hours. Users are urged to check ahead before visiting, contact information can be found here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.