Thursday, September 24, 2020
Home News Pudsey General Election 2019 result: Conservative Stuart Andrew increases majority - UPDATED

Pudsey General Election 2019 result: Conservative Stuart Andrew increases majority – UPDATED

Conservative Stuart Andrew comfortably held his marginal Pudsey Constituency seat.

Labour had hoped to win in Pudsey and oust Mr Andrew. In the end he increased his majority from just 331 to 3,517, an increased vote share of 1.4% on the 2017 result.


Jane Aitchison (Labour) – 22,936

Stuart Andrew (Conservative) – 26,453

Bob Buxton (Yorkshire Party) – 844

Quinn Daley (Green) – 894

Ian Dowling (Liberal Democrats) – 3,088

Speaking at the count at the First Direct Arena in Leeds, he said:

“At the last election, I nearly lost this seat, but it was remarkable on the doorstep to hear how many people were voting for us this time.

“Politicians ignore democracy at their peril. It is our job to deliver on that commitment, make sure we get Brexit delivered, then concentrate on those issues that matter.

“The National Health Service, police, and locally we need to make sure we sort out our transport.”

The Pudsey constituency includes the Leeds City Council wards of Calverley and Farsley, Guiseley and Rawdon, Horsforth, and Pudsey.

The seat had traditionally been a Conservative stronghold until 1997, when it was taken for Labour by Paul Truswell. Truswell retired in 2010, and the seat was taken back for the tories by Stuart Andrew.

Going into this election, Andrew sat on one of the slimmest majorities in the region – just 331 ahead of nearest challenger, Labour’s Ian McCargo at the 2017 vote.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recent Posts

From France to Farsley: New massage therapy clinic opens at mill complex

A bnew massage therapy clinic has opened at a former mill complex in Farsley where TV's Emmerdale was filmed.

‘At least half’ of council-run offices could be put up for sale

New ways of working brought about by the Covid-19 pandemic could cause Leeds City Council to sell more of its buildings quicker...

Paul Taylor: The importance of acceptance

Fulneck School principal Paul Taylor continues his occasional column, arguing “tolerance” is fine in so far as it goes, but “acceptance” takes...

Paul Abraham: What is Mindfulness?

By Paul Abraham of Over recent years there has been a huge surge of interest in Mindfulness. ...

Stay Connected