Farsley Celtic hit Droylsden for six


Farsley Celyic 6 Droylsden 0

Farsley Celtic put in a superb attacking display as they destroyed Droylsden 6-0, with six different players getting on the scoresheet.

Farsley had a great opportunity early on as Lewis Nightingale went on a mazy dribble before pulling back for Paul Walker. His effort was brilliantly saved by Droylsden ‘keeper Steven James.

Droylsden captain Domaine Rouse then led a counterattack and found himself through on goal, only for him to poke his effort inches wide of the upright.

Farsley took the lead shortly after, as James fumbled a Jordan Deacey corner before Aiden Savory latched onto the loose ball and slotted home.

Domaine Rouse once again caused problems for the Farsley defence, as he found himself one on one with Tom Taylor however this time Taylor made a smart save down to his left to preserve Celtic’s advantage.

Droylsden then conceded a soft goal as Farsley doubled their lead when the unmarked Paddy Miller headed home Nightingale’s free-kick.

Moments later Nightingale got a goal for himself as he played a sharp one two with Walker before tapping home from a couple of yards out. Chris Howarth then completed the first half rout as he gathered a loose ball and tucked it into the back of the net to make it 4-0.

Early on in the second half Farsley earned themselves a penalty after Jacob Wood handled the ball in the box. Aaron Hardy duly converted to extend Farsley’s lead over The Bloods to five.

Substitute Leon Osborne then scored just seconds after coming on when Nightingale put him through on goal and he coolly finished into the bottom corner.

A short while later Farsley almost made it seven as James made an excellent save from Walker’s effort before Osborne ballooned the rebound over the stand. And with the final chance of the game Rouse kept it to six as he headed Robbie O’Brien’s fierce volley off the line.

Farsley Celtic: Taylor, Hardy (c), Grant (Sugden 69), Howarth, Clayton, Miller, Nightingale, Daly (O’Brien 68), Walker, Savory, Deacey (Osborne 69). Unused subs: Lofthouse (GK), Connor.
Droylsden FC: James, Clark, Grimshaw, Wood, Hampson, O’Brien (Hewitt 73), Rouse (c), Burke (Daly 73), Hampson, Rouse Edmundson (Pino 66), Hasley Cregg. Unused subs: Fielding, Howe.
MOTM: Aiden Savory
Attendance: 174


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.