Pudsey General Election 2017 result: Conservative Stuart Andrew holds seat

9 June 2017

Share this post:
  • 12

Conservative candidate Stuart Andrew has narrowly held his marginal Pudsey seat, despite a strong Labour challenge.

Mr Andrew gained 25,550 votes (47.4%), beating off the challenge of second placed Ian McCargo of Labour, who was a little over 300 votes behind with a total of 25,219 (46.7%).

Mr Andrew said the party’s campaign wasn’t the best, saying “we could have got out there more” and adding that “lessons would have to be learned.”

The results in full are:

Stuart Andrew – Conservative 25,550
Ian McCargo – Labour 25,219
Allen Nixon – Liberal Democrats 1,761
Bob Buxton – The Yorkshire Party 1,138
Michael Wharton – Independent 291

In 2015 Mr Andrew held his seat with 23,637 votes (46% of the vote), beating Labour’s Jamie Hanley with 19,136 (37%).

Share this post:
  • 12

Article tags

Comment on this article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.